bh series: Karnataka: BH series registration starts; only central govt employees for now | Bengaluru News

bh series: Karnataka: BH series registration starts; only central govt employees for now | Bengaluru News, the vie

BENGALURU: The transport department has finally begun issuing Bharat (BH) series registration number plates for new vehicles in the state.
On August 26, the Union ministry of road transport and highways (MORTH) issued a notification on BH series, which came into effect on September 15. However, the state transport department issued a notification only on November 30, and many prospective vehicle owners complained there was a delay even after this notification.
According to sources, the first BH-series registration holder in Karnataka is Vijay Kumar Jadhav, who registered his car at KR Puram RTO.
N Shivakumar, transport commissioner, told TOI: “We have issued BH registration for three vehicles, including two at KR Puram RTO, so far.”
However, BH series registration is not being issued to private vehicles for now. “We are issuing to Union government employees, All-India Services officers (IAS, IPS, IFS), and senior bank officials. Most private employees are on contract basis, so they may switch jobs. In Delhi also, they are not issuing BH series registration to private contract employees” said Shivakumar.
Waseem Memon of Drive Without Borders, an NGO campaigning for ‘one nation, one tax’ since 2014, said: “It’s a positive step. Karnataka took time, but finally it was implemented. But the government cannot discriminate against citizens on the basis of employment or income. It’s a violation of their fundamental rights. BH series registration should be open for everyone.”
BH series is mainly to facilitate seamless transfer of vehicles from one state to another. It is also considered the preliminary step towards the Centre’s ‘one nation, one motor vehicle tax’ plan.
According to Motor Vehicle Rules, a vehicle is not permitted to ply with another state registration number beyond 11 months from date of migration. Otherwise, the owner will have to re-register it in the new state, which is a cumbersome process.
According to MORTH, BH series is applicable to defence personnel, government employees, central and state PSUs, and private companies/organisations that have offices in four or more states/UTs.
Under the scheme, MV tax will be levied for two years or in multiples of two instead of the present one-time lifetime regime (15 years). After 14 years, tax will be levied annually, which will be half the amount levied earlier.

Source link

Become a Trendsetter

Sign up for The Vie’s Weekly Digest and get the best of The Vie, tailored for you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *